Home | About | News | Contact

Wheelersburg Represents Region at Nationals after Taking Top Spot at Science Bowl V

A team made up of mostly underclassmen from Wheelersburg High School upended a team of seniors from Zane Trace High School to win the 2017 South Central Ohio Regional Science Bowl at Shawnee State University in Portsmouth, Ohio, on March 10, 2017. The Wheelersburg team was made up of Jacob Lewis, junior, Quin Whitley, sophomore, Aaron Bundy, sophomore, and Gus Shoemaker, Freshmen and coached by Paul Boll.

A total of 32 teams battled it out at Science Bowl V presented by the U.S. Department of Energy’s Portsmouth Site. In total 190 players and coaches competed supported by a staff of 55 volunteers.

This was the first time a team from Wheelersburg won the regional championship and they were awarded an all-expense paid trip to Washington DC to compete in the National Science Bowl.

In addition to winning a spot in the National Science Bowl, Wheelersburg High School also won $1,000 for their Science Department.  Pictured from left to right are Dan Minter (Volunteer from Portsmouth Mission Alliance), Coach Paul Boll, Quin Whitley, Aaron Bundy, Jacob Lewis, Gus Shoemaker, and Jeff Wagner (Volunteer from Fluor-BWXT).

Notre Dame Wins Science Bowl IV

Portsmouth’s Notre Dame High School became the first repeat winner of the South Central Ohio Regional Science Bowl on Friday, March 11, 2016. They swept through the entire regional tournament with a perfect 8-0 record - earning the top seed in their bracket during pool play, then defeating the Chillicothe (2015 regional champion), Zane Trace (2013 regional champion), Minford and Waverly to claim the championship. The winners now move on to compete at the National Science Bowl in Washington D.C. April 28 through May 2. Shown, the team celebrates their victory with the regional banner and trophy. Pictured, from left, are Jud Lilly (DOE Project Manager), Greg Simonton (DOE Science Bowl Regional Coordinator), coach Diana Marsh, Andrew Smith, Joseph Beckett, Jiten Patel, coach Terry Acox and Grant Sparks.


Chillicothe High School wins 2015 South Central Ohio Regional Science Bowl

PORTSMOUTH, Ohio - Chillicothe High School captured the third annual U.S. Department of Energy (DOE) South Central Ohio Regional Science Bowl title on Friday, March 13, 2015, at Shawnee State University in Portsmouth, Ohio.

Team members Dylan Crisp, Keegan Francis, Noah Wright-Piekarski, Matthew Wagner and Claire Schmitt defeated five teams in a single-elimination tournament that followed the morning pool play.  Their victory over Northwest in the final match sends them to the 25th Annual National Science Bowl®, scheduled for April 30-May 4 in Washington, D.C., where they will compete against regional winners from throughout the nation.

“When they lost their first match by only two points to an experienced team (Waverly), I realized they just needed to get into the flow of the competition,” said winning coach Joshua Queen.  “I think one of the things that really helps us is that we have a lot of (Advanced Placement) courses and a variety of math and science classes that really give us an advantage.”

Chillicothe won the event consisting of 32 teams from 18 southern Ohio high schools.  After finishing second in their morning pool play, the Cavaliers defeated Valley, Waverly and the Pike County Career Technical Center teams to advance to the semifinals.  A 22-20 victory over Zane Trace that came down to the last question in the semifinals sent them to the final match.  In the final, Chillicothe saw a 12-point halftime edge disappear.  But after falling behind 28-26, the Cavaliers rallied for 18 points over the next three minutes and eventually won 44-32. 

“Last year I really learned how the system worked, the rules of the competition,” said junior Dylan Crisp, the only member of the team who had experience competing in the South Central Ohio Regional Science Bowl.  “A lot of different people came up with big answers, especially Keegan (Francis).”

Participating schools included Chillicothe, Eastern Pike, Huntington Ross, Jackson, Lucasville Valley, Minford, New Boston, Northwest, Notre Dame, Pike County Career Technical Center, Piketon, Portsmouth, Portsmouth West, Sciotoville East, South Webster, Waverly, Western Pike and Zane Trace.

Besides Shawnee State University, DOE partners for the event included the Portsmouth Site Specific Advisory Board, the Southern Ohio Diversification Initiative, the Portsmouth Civic Forum, Centrus Energy Corp., and site contractors (Fluor-B&W Portsmouth, Restoration Services, Inc., Wastren-EnergX Mission Support, Babcock & Wilcox Conversion Services, InSolves, EHI Consultants, and Linear Path).

The National Science Bowl® is a nationwide academic competition that tests students’ knowledge in all areas of science and mathematics. Teams are comprised of four students, one alternate, and a teacher who serves as advisor and coach. The teams are quizzed in a fast-paced competition involving biology, chemistry, Earth science, physics, energy and mathematics.

The Department of Energy created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields.  Nearly a quarter-million students have participated since it was established in 1991, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions.  DOE’s Office of Science manages the NSB Finals.

DOE Regional Coordinator Greg Simonton (left), and Chillicothe High School coach Joshua Queen join members of the winning Chillicothe High School Science Bowl team. (Left to right) Dylan Crisp, Matthew Wagner, Noah Wright-Piekarski, Claire Schmitt and Keegan Francis.

Students compete at the DOE South Central Ohio Regional Science Bowl at Shawnee State University in Portsmouth, Ohio, on Friday, March 13, 2015.




The U.S. Department of Energy’s (DOE) South Central Ohio Regional Science Bowl is a fun and exciting academic competition open to student teams from high schools in Pike, Scioto, Ross and Jackson counties (surrounding the DOE Portsmouth Site in Piketon).

The DOE created the National Science Bowl in 1991 to encourage students to excel in mathematics and science and to pursue careers in these fields. More than 225,000 students have participated in the National Science Bowl throughout its 23 year history, and it is one of the nation’s largest science competitions.

More than 9,500 high school students will compete in 70 regional Science Bowl tournaments around the country. The U.S. Department of Energy Office of Science manages the National Science Bowl®, and sponsors the NSB finals competition. The Department of Energy's Office of Science is the single largest supporter of basic research in the physical sciences in the United States, and is working to address some of the most pressing challenges of our time.


2014 Recap

Shown at the conclusion of the competition at Shawnee State University are (from left, in back) DOE's Greg Simonton, Notre Science Bowl coach Matt Mader; front, from left, team members Scott Warren, Collin Haskins, Bobby Morris, Jessica Schmidt, team captain Will Haney and DOE Site Lead Joel Bradburne.


2013 Recap

Zane Trace High School competed in the 2013 National Science Bowl after winning the South Central Ohio Regional at Shawnee State University.

Community Contact Information

For community involvement activities, contact Deneen Garner at Deneen.Garner@ports.pppo.gov
or 740-897-2609. For questions, please call
1-888-603-7722 or email questions@fbportsmouth.com

Have a Question?

Are you a resident of the local Portsmouth community and have a question about our presence and impact on the area? Please do not hesitate to contact us with yout question. We are more than happy to hear from you. Please allow us some time to get back to you.